The Fishing Hut by Hannah Fox & John Fox (part of Festival of the Bay 2018)

Filter by date
Filter by theme
Sat, 08 Sep 2018 10:00 to Mon, 24 Sep 2018 16:00

The Fishing Hut by Hannah Fox & John Fox (part of Festival of the Bay 2018)

Visit our fun, magical, pop-up gallery inspired by fishing stories of Morecambe Bay

Part of Morecambe Bay Partnership's Festival of the Bay 2018

When: Throughout the Summer - dates below

Where: venues around Morecambe Bay, check details below

Cost: FREE

During Summer 2018 The Fishing Hut, a handcrafted travelling gallery shed, will appear at various coastal locations around Morecambe Bay.  Visitors are invited to step inside to enjoy a kaleidoscope of short animated films, small illustrated stories and artefacts that explore and celebrate the culture and heritage of the Fishing communities around the Bay.

The highly decorative Hut, created by artists Hannah Fox and John Fox, has been inspired by Morecambe Bay Partnership's oral history project collecting memories of the Bay's fishing industry for future generations. It will contain amazing details gleaned from the stories of fishing families.

The Hut is touring to several festivals and events around Morecambe Bay throughout Summer 2018 and visiting schools.

Why not spend a little while exploring this Seaside treasure trove?

Tour schedule:

  • Friday 22 June - Silverdale & Arnside Art and Craft Trail (Venue 18, Car park of St John's Church, Emesgate Lane), 1pm-8pm
  • Sunday 24 June - Morecambe Kite Festival, Bay Arena  (11am-4pm)
  • Saturday 30 June - Grange Promenade (11am-4pm)
  • Saturday 21 July - Sunderland Point (11am-4pm)
  • Sunday 22 July - Ulverston Canal Foot Community Gala Day (11am-4pm)
  • Sunday 5 August - Make My Day Festival, West End, Morecambe (11am-4pm)
  • Monday 6 August - Heysham Head (11am-4pm)
  • Saturday 8 September - Lakes Alive Festival, Abbot Hall Park, Kendal
  • Saturday 15 September - Grange Promenade

This project is kindly supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund, Arts Council England, The Hadfield Trust & Lancaster Port Commission.

Events Programme

Events Highlights

Sat, 01 Sep 2018 10:00 to Sun, 31 Mar 2019 16:00
'Headlands to Headspace' - Morecambe Bay Partnership’s Landscape Art Commissions

Morecambe Bay's unending horizons, rich mosaic of habitats, precious nature and ancient heritage have inspired this exciting storytelling, part of 

Sun, 09 Sep 2018 10:00 to Sun, 04 Nov 2018 4:30
Morecambe Bay's Hidden Heritage exhibition (Dock Museum, Barrow)

Part of Morecambe Bay Partnership's Festival of the Bay 2018

When: Sat 8th September to Sunday 4th November 2018

Tue, 23 Oct 2018 10:00
Family bird watching day, Morecambe

When: Thursday 23 October 10am - 2pm

Where: Morecambe promenade

FREE

Support us
Support us